Let’s Talk About Routines

2014-06-18 07.32.30

A few weeks ago, I shared how I plan out my days. While this has been working well for me the last couple of months, a change in schedule requires a look at my current system. If you missed my post yesterday, my work hours have been cut back. While the daily docket works well for work days, it simply leaves too much wiggle room for my days when I’m home.

One of the best ways to maximize time during the day is to get into a routine. If you’re looking for some good material on how to build a routine, I highly suggest this series from Money Saving Mom. I’m going to be trying out a different morning routine for work/non-work days, but otherwise my afternoon/evening routines will be the same. I’ll be checking back in next week to report on how these went. It takes 3 weeks to build a habit, so I’m planning on checking in for at least 4 weeks of trying the same thing before I attempt to add any more. The more you do a routine, the more streamlined your actions will be, thus creating more time for other things!

Work Days:

Morning routine

  • 5am Wakeup
  • Exercise
  • Shower, Dress
  • Coffee, Bible, Breakfast
  • Leave for work by 6:20

Afternoon routine

  • Lunch
  • BeachBody work
  • Housecleaning
  • Blog/Writing
  • Afternoon tasks/to-do list
  • Read

Evening routine

  • Pack lunch (if working the next day)
  • Tidy kitchen
  • Take pills
  • Lay out clothes
  • Fill out tomorrow’s daily docket

Home Days:

Morning routine

  • 6:30am Wakeup
  • Exercise
  • Coffee, Bible, Breakfast
  • Shower, Dress
  • Dishes/Housecleaning
  • Blog/Writing

Do you have a routine that works for you?

 

One thought on “Let’s Talk About Routines

  1. Pingback: Routines: Week 1 | an aspiring homemaker

I love comments!

