Sweet Jack Falstaff Custard: An Elizabethan Cookbook

But for sweet Jack Falstaff…banish plump Jack, and banish all the world. – Henry IV Part I

This is the final recipe in my Elizabethan cookbook series. It seems fitting that the last recipe be the one that inspired the whole project. We had just read Henry IV Part I in my Shakespeare class. Falstaff’s favorite drink in the whole world is sack, which is a type of wine. I was driving home and thought about adding booze to a custard for a more flavorful dessert. I remembered the quote from above and thought, “Sweet Jack…..DANIELS.” And thus, the inspiration for this recipe was born.

Most of the other recipes in the cookbook were adapted from other recipes I’d found, or were adaptations of recipes from Shakespeare’s time. This was the one recipe that I created completely on my own. I did watch a few tutorials for making custard on YouTube while doing my research, but this recipe is 100% mine.

Sweet Jack Falstaff Custard

Serves 4

2 cup unsweetened almond milk

3 Tbsp corn starch

1 ½ oz Jack Daniels Honey Whiskey (or 1 sample bottle)

1 tsp vanilla

1 cinnamon stick

3 egg yolks

½ cup sugar

Ground cinnamon

In a small saucepan, combine almond milk, whiskey, vanilla, and cinnamon stick. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to low. Whisk in corn starch and simmer 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Turn off heat and let it cool another 5 minutes. Remove cinnamon stick and discard. Combine egg yolks and sugar in a large bowl. Once milk mixture has cooled, add to egg mixture slowly, whisking to combine thoroughly. Pass mixture through a strainer and discard any cooked egg chunks. Spoon mixture evenly into 4 ramekins and top with ground cinnamon. Can be served either hot or cold – either serve immediately, or place in fridge until chilled.

I love comments!

