A Thanksgiving Short Story

Here’s a little Thanksgiving short story I wrote in my Children’s Lit class this morning. I hope you enjoy it!

My Goose is Cooked
By Jennifer Beard

The coils ripple heat across my golden, crispy skin. The warm air of the kitchen feels cool in comparison to my oven sauna. I know my time on this earth is short. I wish I could spend my last moments with my family out in the powdery snow. I know my sacrifice is a noble cause. I feel myself being lifted out of the pan where I had been basting in my own sweat. I am nestled in a bed of crisp lettuce arranged upon a clean, white tray.

As I descend, I take note of the beautiful, festive candles and leaves that are placed in a decorative manner across the table. I take my place between the gravy and cranberry sauce. It is then that I notice the twenty round faces leering and drooling as they stalk their prey – me.

What? I thought my sacrifice would benefit a family that is truly in want, not these plump, greedy American vultures who are practically drenching their napkins in saliva. My gaze is drawn by a quick flash of light glinting off the razor-sharp blade that can only be meant for me. At least it will be over quickly.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

I love comments!

