The 10 in 10 challenge: Day 4

On Day 4, my mission was to organize! I started with the spare room. A few months ago, it looked TERRIBLE. You could barely walk in to refill the kitty’s dish (it’s where we keep her food bag).

This is what it looked like a few months ago:

We cleaned it out back in April to make room for a treadmill that I got for free from craigslist, but it still wasn’t great.

This is what it looked like when I started organizing:

And this is what it looks like now:

I moved the random pieces of wood for crafting into the basement, moved the extra toilet paper & paper towels into the closet, put the tools & craft supplies away into dresser drawers, and organized our large mound of wall art/picture frames. The most exciting part? I can use my treadmill again! Woo hoo!

You notice how some of the closet doors don’t look quite right? The first problem is that I think my husband put the wrong door on the upper right corner. He didn’t want to deal with it any more the other night, but we’ll swap it out for the proper one soon. Another problem…when we first moved in, the doors looked like this:

That bottom middle door was off for a reason. The holes for the screws are stripped! So we will have to drill in some new holes in order to get the door to stay on. Another problem? One of the hinges is broken. So I think we will leave the upper left corner cabinet open. I like it better that way anyway.

Later in the afternoon, I tackled my coupon organization . I had been storing my coupons in envelopes labeled with “Perishables”, “Pantry”, “Household”, “Health/Beauty”, “Cat”, and “Other”. I was mostly working, except I could never see all my coupons at once, or when the expiration dates had passed. I decided to go the route of a coupon binder with trading card pages. I went in search of those card pages, but the only ones I could find were too expensive for me. So I went for an $8 photo album from Target instead. I kept my categories, alphabetized each section by name of product/company & slipped them into place. I left a few blank spaces in between & a few extra pages for new coupons to come in.

Here was my old organization method:

And here’s the new album:

I decided I was doing so well, I’d come up with a few more things to add to my list. The idea behind this challenge is to keep myself moving on my to do list instead of just letting things slowly build up & then trying to do them all at once. I was able to get some of the new tasks done on Day 4 as well, which means I’m done with the 10 tasks!

Here’s the after Day 4 list:

1. Steam & hang other living room curtain
2. Pick up photo from Target & hang in gallery wall frame
3. Hang picture collage frame near master bedroom
4. Edge back lawn
5. Pull weeds in garden near street
6. Pull weeds in garden near neighbors
7. Pull weeds in garden near house
8. Pull weeds in garden near carport
9. Organize coupons
10. Replace dead pansies with impatiens (front garden & pots on front porch)
11. Hang closet doors
12. Organize spare room
13. Clean up carport (rocks, grass, furniture pieces)
14. Replace dead marigolds in back yard with living ones
15. Move wedding arch wood pieces to back yard
16. Paint bathroom vanity
17. Organize bathroom vanity
18. Paint dining chairs
19. Paint dining table
20. Pull/dig up weeds in backyard
21. Donate the three random textbooks in the back of my car
22. Clean up/paint antique chalkboard easel
23. Apply for Win, Lose, or Blog season 5
24. Clean up small antique window
25. Clean up large antique window
26. Decorate on top of china hutch
27. Paint frames & hang up
28. Take carpet remnants from basement stairs & put in garbage
29. Find a mirror to hang in hallway
30. Finish gallery wall

While cleaning up the spare room, I took the carpet remnants from the basement to the garbage outside. It was nice to roll those tasks into one. Then when I couldn’t sleep, I got up in the middle of the night and cleaned up my small antique window. If you’re a regular reader, you know that I do good work at night when I can’t sleep! (See how I organized my linen cabinet at midnight here.) After that, I decorated the top of my china hutch. I was able to finally get to sleep shortly after snapping these photos.

Here’s the antique window before (with my kitty’s cameo):

And after:

And here’s what it looks like on top of my china hutch:

The last thing I did was clean up the antique chalkboard easel I found on the curb the other day. I clearly had been an outside toy, as it was extremely dirty and water damaged. I thought it would be adorable cleaned up and lightly painted white. I haven’t decided if I’m going to paint the back yet.

Here’s what it looks like before (complete with kitty cameos again):

And here’s the after:

Wow, really productive day! All that, plus I worked two jobs, had lunch with one of my best friends, hung out with my cousin, and went to a BBQ/swim party! Fun day!

13 tasks down!!! I wonder how many more I can get done in the next 6 days! Tackling some gardening tomorrow!

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “The 10 in 10 challenge: Day 4

  1. That was so crazy how that window used to have a cat in it, and then you were able to clean it and there was no longer a trace!!! 😉 I'm just kidding. But really, this has really inspired me. I've been a lazy BUM the last two weeks and it's really annoying me! I'm going to work on a list tonight… or maybe tomorrow since it is 2am :/

I love comments!

