Tackling Closet Clutter

I’ve slowly been chipping away at various places around the house that need some organizational attention. This weekend, I used my extra hours to give some special attention to my clothing. This includes my dresser, my jewelry drawer in my husband’s dresser, another junk drawer, my shoes, and the master closet! It was a huge project that took me all weekend to complete. If you recall, I already got my scarves under control a few weeks ago (read about that here). I think the biggest challenge of this post was organizing all the different aspects of it! So it will go like this: shoes, junk drawers, dressers, and finally the closet. Stick around till the end! My shoes were actually organized to start. I had them neatly arranged on an over-the-door shoe hanger:

Problem solved, right? Unfortunately, that’s not true. The weight of the shoes was actually pulling the door from the hinge. Not good. So, in the name of thrift, I purchased 2 of these floor shoe racks from Target at $3 a pop.

The problem? The closet floor looked like this:

So I cleaned it out and vacuumed. (ooooh so pretty & clean!)

Then I assembled the racks & loaded them up! I tried to organize them by heel height, and I put the ones I wear the most in the middle for a quick grab.

My boots are being stored to the side of the racks, matched into their rightful pairs.

Next, I decided to tackle the dressers. The top drawers of both my and my husband’s dressers were filled with my jewelry & a bunch of random junk (and a few treasures). Here’s what they looked like before:

I cleaned them out, purged, tossed, put things away, and finally combined them both into one (much more) organized drawer. I have a project idea for what to do with my jewelry, but that one will have to wait for a while. Anyway, here’s the after:

We were recently very blessed to receive a matching set of much larger dressers, completely free! The set we have been using is a set we received from my great grandmother, so they’re definitely staying around (just not in our room). Here’s my too-small dresser.

I took everything out and laid it on the bed. I tried on almost every single piece of clothing. Everything that didn’t fit right went into a donation pile.

Then I swapped out the dressers, organized what I had left, and put everything away! Here’s one of the new-to-us, much larger dressers!

Almost finished! Now it’s time for the big reveal – the closet!
Here are some before shots:

I actually reorganized my clothing while I was tackling the dresser. Then I emptied everything off the top shelf and dusted thoroughly.

Again, I purged, tossed, put things away, hung things up, organized, labeled, and put a few things back in the closet. Are you ready?? And here are the final views of the closet!

I already had these rubbermaid drawers, I just relabeled them. I ran out of label tape for the last drawer (boo). The left three are “foreign items” (collectibles from trips), “swimsuits”, and “slips” (which never seem to have the proper place). The top right one is EMPTY! The other two are for belts. We also have some extra towels folded neatly.

I already had these baskets sitting in another room. The left one has my painting clothes in it. The right one is full of extra jeans. The baskets came from Ikea. I’m in love with my closet now! It makes me so happy when I open it in the morning! This is what I’m donating:
(planner cover, toy dog, 3 butterfly hair clips from 4th grade, oinking pig keychain, checkbook cover, pair of child’s gloves, headset for old cell phone, 3 old cell phone chargers)


(large box of clothes that don’t fit)

Cost breakdown:
Shoe racks: $6
Dresser: free Baskets & bins: free (already owned)
Patience & Dedication: priceless
Total cost: $6

Thanks for reading about my seemingly huge project! In reality, it took me two evenings (about 2-3 hours each night).

Okay, so maybe it was huge, but I had a blast doing it! Is that weird?

I’m linking up with:
Anything Related
Organize and Decorate Everything UndertheTableandDreaming504 Main
Join  us Saturdays at tatertotsandjello.com for the weekend wrap  up           party!

6 thoughts on “Tackling Closet Clutter

  1. I caught you from A Bowl Full of Lemons – great job! You should be proud of your efforts. I love when I'm done with a job like that and I just keep going over and opening the door to look at my handiwork!

  2. I found your blog from A Bowl full of lemons! 🙂 Great job! I just did my closet this weekend.. We don't actually have dressers I put everything in our closet. I didn't take b4 pictures. I thought about it then got 2 carried away. But it feels great to get something like that done. And agree it makes me so happy to open up my closet in the morning.. I'm actually enjoying putting my clothes away haha.

  3. Wow! You've been busy! Doesn't it feel so good? I love decluttering. It's one of my favorite things to do. Thanks for linking to We're Organized Wednesday.

  4. The giveaway post for IHeart Organizing came at the right time for my closet reorginzation as well 😉 AND oh yeah it was a lot of work…but so worth it! I particiated in a 21-day purge last fall and got rid of a lot of my fall shoes. This time around I purged my bags and soon I'll pull down my summer shoes out of the attic…once the weather permits. I also found a great buy at IKEA to organize my shoes. Good luck in the giveaway and have a great day. Fondly, Roberta

I love comments!

