Bits of my Weekend – pedicure, garage saling, and baking

This weekend was a blast!

On Friday, I got to meet up with some of my best friends (both were bridesmaids)!!
This is my very dear (goofy) friend Kelsey

And this is another very dear friend Janelle:

We were all friends in high school, and have continued our friendship since then. And now we’re all married! I’m so blessed to have these women in my life!
We love to hang out together, so since Janelle was visiting from out of town, we went to our favorite nail salon to get our nails done. Janelle got a mani for the Celtic festival, and Kelsey and I got pedis!
Here are my spring flowers:

After getting our nails dolled up, we went out with our husbands (minus one) to Fuddruckers for some awesome burgers!

On Saturday, I spent the entire morning with Kelsey at garage sales. She just moved in to her first home, so we wanted to find some things for her new house. I also just had fun looking for stuff as well.


6 tank tops, 1 t-shirt, 1 jacket, 1 scarf, and 2 skirts for about $7.


1 decorative tray, 2 vintage necklaces, and 1 game of Scrabble for $6.
(I already have a Scrabble game, but I wanted to use these letters for crafts.)


1 beach tote, 3 paperback books, and 2 vintage books for $3.50.

One of the vintage books was called “Housekeeping in Old Virginia”. It’s copyright 1879 and in great condition!


This beautiful turquoise vase was originally $8, but I went back later and it still hadn’t sold, so I scooped it up for $4.

Steals of the day: 2 free bags of lemons

I also scored 2 expansion packs of the Heroscape game for my husband (valued at about $65 retail). There were a few of the “guys” missing, but the game is still playable! I bought it for $4, but there was a penny in the box, so $3.99 it is!

Total spent: $24.49!

And yes, I am in a sundress. It was beautiful, sunny, and almost 70 degrees all morning!

Sunday was a lot of fun. I got to sing with the choir in both services, and our Sunday School group had a potluck. I brought peanut butter dip with apples and pretzel sticks, my favorite spinach artichoke dip with pita chips (yuummmm), and the world’s best banana bread muffins. I went to Target to get a few organizing things, and got a housewarming gift for our friends who just moved into their first home! Our friends inherited some unneeded dressers when they moved into their new house, so they passed those to us. We spent a few hours hauling those across town in my mom’s van to our house. And they had a potted Japanese maple that they didn’t want!!! So that came to us as well! =D

I also baked my very first from-scratch apple pie! It wasn’t the most delicious apple pie I’ve ever tasted, but it was definitely good.

I was ready to go to bed at 8, but I made myself do something else productive. I organized my scarves in our closet. It’s not much, but at least I can close the door now without scarves blocking the doorway. I can also see all of them a lot better now.

Before:

After:

Yes, I do have a “CAUTION DO NOT CROSS” scarf. It was from my uncle. Be jealous.

Thanks for reading!

I’m linking up with:
 http://www.thethriftyhome.com

2 thoughts on “Bits of my Weekend – pedicure, garage saling, and baking

I love comments!

