Kitchen Challenge Step 2: Under the Sink

This past week’s challenge from A bowl full of lemons was a very time consuming one for me, filled with lots and lots of pictures. So I’m going to break it up into smaller posts to make it easier to manage.To read about this challenge, click here. To see Step 1 (my pantry organization), click here.

Step 2 was tackling under the kitchen sink. Dun dun DUN!!!!!! I was seriously NOT looking forward to this, but I knew it needed to happen at some point. You see, when we first moved in, the house had been vacant so long that there were a few rats that decided under my kitchen sink would make a good home. We quickly proved them otherwise. But we’ve been in our house now for over 7 months and I still didn’t want to touch this spot. I’m proud to say that now it is completely sanitized (most importantly) and also completely organized!

Here’s what it looked like before

First, I cleaned everything out.

I vacuumed up the big stuff (and rat droppings – yuck!), then I scrubbed and scrubbed till it shined! Here it is part way done:

Here it is all sparkly clean!

Then I laid down some non-skid contact paper that I got at the dollar store.

And I added in a few necessary cleaning supplies (the rest will go to our cleaning closet).

I added a $6.98 adjustable pot rack from Target and used it to organize our baking pans! This is the only cupboard tall enough to store our pans in this way.

And here’s the finished product!

Phew! That was a tough, gross job, but I’m SO glad that it’s done!

Project costs:
Baking pan rack: $6.98
Non skid contact paper: $1
Total cost: $7.98

Thanks for reading!

I’m linking up with:

Anything Related

Transformation Thursday

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Challenge Step 2: Under the Sink

I love comments!

