Gift Wrap Station

This week’s challenge from A bowl full of lemons was to create a space designated to be a wrapping station. Let me tell you, this challenge almost beat me. But I prevailed in the end.We have a second bedroom that is currently a disaster area. One day I’m hoping it will serve as a multi-functional room as a guest bedroom with a craft area.

Here’s how it looked when I started this project:

And here was my wrapping paper organization before:

First, I decided it would be cool to do something like this. The Youngsters took metal boxes screwed into a closet door to help with space conservation (details found here).

image from Young House Love

So, in the spirit of being thrifty, I went to several stores before finding these beauties from Target, on sale for $1.34 each.

I also bought 2 cans of white spray paint from Walmart at $0.96 each. I raced against the rain to get these finished before the downpour began. I made it just in time. Once they were dry, I set to work with my trusty Command Hooks. I didn’t want to drill holes into my closet because we’re renting. I’ll putty walls, but I don’t really want to mess with wood filler too. I bought the right size for what would fit through my boxes, and hung them up.

It was so pretty. Until I heard a big THUMP later on. This is what I found:

Sad day. One of the cheap-o boxes cracked. It’ll be fine to hold larger items, but only sitting on a shelf. Bummer. So I was back to the drawing board. I had already wasted some money (only $6, but still) so I didn’t really want to spend any more money. Even still, I went to a bunch of thrift stores and finally found 4 metal boxes at TJ Maxx. I bought them (to the tune of $30.32), immediately regretted spending that much money, and returned them within 20 minutes. I’m sure the clerk thought I was crazy. Oh well. A penny saved is a penny earned, right? Or in this case, 3,032 pennies is 3,032 pennies earned.

So I went back home and “shopped” around my home to see what I could use. Then it dawned on me.

See the arrows? They’re pointing to a mostly-empty, large antique trunk that I bought a few years ago and recovered with vintage maps and travel ads. It was holding a few off-season decorations and not much else. So I emptied it out and made it my new wrapping paper station!

Here’s the bottom of the trunk. It holds the wrapping paper, boxes of ribbon & bows, and some boxes for presents.

And here it is with the top shelf insert. It holds the gift bags, small boxes, tissue paper, tape scissors, and gift tags.

The room is still a mess, but it’s sooo much better than it was. Here’s the in-progress-not-totally-finished “after” pictures:

I’m not 100% sold on this trunk staying in this room. It’s humongous in a tiny space. So it may move elsewhere in the future, but that’s where it is for now.

I will do another post later about how I revived this antique trunk before. Thanks for reading!

I’m linked up to:

UndertheTableandDreaming

Organize and Decorate Everything
3 thoughts on “Gift Wrap Station

I love comments!

