P90X/BBL hybrid: Day 2

Day 2

P90X Cardio X (43 min)
BBL High & Tight (35 min)

With the normal P90X program, I’d be doing Plyometrics. However, Plyo is a bit beyond my physical capabilities at the moment. It’s still something I have to work my way up to. I attempt it every once in a while, but I generally stick with Cardio X.
Cardio X is a great workout from P90X. It takes moves from four other dvds, so if you go through the program, all the moves are familiar. It’s broken up into four parts: Yoga, Kenpo, Plyometrics, and Core Synergistics. Here’s what the workout looks like:

Yoga (warm up)
Sun Salutations/Vinyasas (2)
Runner’s Pose
Warrior One
Warrior Two
Reverse Warrior
each position slowly gets added to the original vinyasa

Kenpo
Ball Kick (20 each side)
Hook/Uppercut/Side Kick combo (15 each side)
Front & Back Knuckles/Ball Kick/Back Kick combo (15 each side)
Jab/Cross/Hook/Uppercut combo (25 each side)
Three-Direction Kick combo (18 kicks per side)

Plyometrics
Airborne Heisman (30 sec)
Swing Kick (30 sec)
Jump Shot (30 sec)
Tires (30 sec)
Wacky Jacks (30 sec)
Repeat

Core Synergistics
Squat X-Press (30)
Steam Engine (50)
Dreya Roll (60 sec)
Squat Run (30 sec each side)
Superman/Banana (60 sec)

Cool down/Stretch

High & Tight definitely held its own – it may be tougher than most of the P90X workouts. It’s broken down into three sections:

Standing work with resistance band
Floor work with resistance band
Floor work with ankle weights

I did the first two parts with the resistance band, and man, did I feel the burn. Then for the last part, it’s recommended to have 1- or 2-lb ankle weights. I only have 5-lb ankle weights, which would be waaay too much to start out with. So I opted to skip the weights. I’m so glad I did. I almost died on the last part. Okay, not true, but I was in major pain… the good kind… that you only appreciate when you’re finished. My husband can attest to my groaning and complaining in the last section. Here’s an instant replay of our conversation when he came home.

Me: “uuuuuuugh…”

Hubby: “What?”

Me: “That was only the first leg.”

Hubby: “Really??”

Me: “Yeah… now we’re going to do all that on the OTHER leg….”

Hubby (after listening to the brazilian music in the background): “It sounds like you’re listening to a Salsa Playboy…”

Me: “uuuuuugh…” (because I have no idea what a Salsa Playboy is, and I don’t think I really want to know)

Update: Hubby clarified that a Salsa Playboy is a Latino pimp… Yeah, I didn’t really want to know.

I love comments!

