What’s in a name?

First post on the new blog!

I don’t know if any of you are bloggers, but I think that naming the blog is the most difficult part. I googled “naming a blog” and came up with several suggestions to help in the naming process. I tried to take a few bible verses that are meaningful to me and my personal fitness journey, but none of them seemed to work. I guess I stared at the computer screen for about half an hour before I came up with “the fit wife.” My personal goal in life is to embody Proverbs 31:10-31, and verse 17 says, “She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.” To me, this description of the Proverbs 31 woman means that she takes care of her body so that she has enough energy to meet her daily tasks head-on. Verse 25 states, “She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.” To me, this means that the Proverbs 31 woman is ready for the future because she takes care of herself – she can play with the kids, run around, walk up the stairs without getting winded, etc.

Now, these are just parts of a longer passage, and the verses I shared mean more than just what I said about them. But after reading through my life verses again, “the fit wife” just seemed to fit (hehe). I want to be healthy so I can live more years with my husband, have healthy children in the future, and ultimately to glorify God with my body and taking care of the temple He’s given me.

So welcome to my journey towards becoming a fit wife! To see earlier posts of my weight loss and fitness journey, go to my first blog (which is no longer about ME and more about US – my husband and me). You’ll find some photos through P90X (here and here) and accountability posts as I “weigh in” week by week (starting here).


photo from epicself

I love comments!

