Menu Plan Monday

Welcome back to Menu Plan Monday!

Oh how I’ve missed these posts! We’re doing well going back to our cash envelope system for purchasing groceries, and I’ve been back to planning weekly menus for the last few weeks.

Although planning weekly menus is extremely time consuming for me, I find that it saves us money, I can use what we already have on hand, it keeps us from eating out too often, and we eat healthier meals. It’s a win-win-win-win!

I plan meals from Monday to Sunday. That way, I can use some of my time on the weekend to plan for the next week. My usual strategy is to rotate breakfasts, snacks, and lunches between two or three options during the week. This helps cut down on the amount of ingredients I need to buy each week. I try to change up dinners each week. If a recipe makes more than I know we can finish, we take leftovers for lunch or I plan a leftover night. I’ve been planning one slow cooker night each week, and I try to rotate in one or two new recipes to try each week.

This week, my husband has requested homemade pizza, burgers, ravioli, and lots more salads. I happily obliged.

Here’s the plan for this week:

Breakfasts:

Egg Mugs

Protein Pancakes

Snacks:

Greek yogurt

Apples

Banana berry smoothies

Chocolate banana smoothies

Lunches:

Brown Butter Fish, Fruit

Cobb Salad

Dinners:

Monday – White Pizza on homemade whole wheat crust, Caesar salad

Tuesday – Chicken & Wild Rice, corn on the cob, garden salad

Wednesday – Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken, rice a roni, garden salad

Thursday – Burgers, mac n cheese, garden salad

Friday – Ravioli, garlic bread, Caesar salad

Saturday – leftovers

Sunday – Build Your Own Loaded Nachos/Taco Salad

 

What’s on your menu this week?

2 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Pingback: 10 Weekly Goals | an aspiring homemaker

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday | an aspiring homemaker

I love comments!